top of page
Friends with Smartphones

Citizen Science Projekt "Influencer Monitor"

Wir freuen uns, am Citizen Science Award 2023 des OeAD mit unserem Projekt "Influencer Monitor: Gesundheits-Influencer unter der Lupe" teilzunehmen.

trophy.png

Social Media Plattformen sind nicht nur bedeutende Unterhaltungsmedien, sondern mittlerweile auch zentrale Informationsquellen. Eine bedeutende Rolle hierbei spielen Social Media Influencer. Influencer haben einerseits das Potenzial, junge Menschen für Gesundheitsthemen zu begeistern und ein gutes Gesundheitsverhalten zu fördern. Andererseits teilen Influencer aber auch eine Menge an ungeprüften Gesundheitsinformationen.

"Influencer-Monitor: Gesundheits-Influencer unter der Lupe"
Jugendliche kennen sich am besten aus und wissen, welche Influencer in ihrer Altersgruppe wichtig sind. Deshalb können die teilnehmenden Jugendlichen hier selbst zu ForscherInnen werden. Sie beobachten die Inhalte auf ihren Social Media Plattformen und sammeln Daten zu Gesundheits-Influencern. Dabei finden die Citizen Scientists heraus, wer die prominentesten Influencer unter österreichischen Jugendlichen sind und bewerten die verbreiteten Inhalte nach Gesundheitsthemen, Produktplatzierungen und Potenziale zur Gesundheitsförderung.

Wie kann man mitforschen?
Das Mitforschen ist zeit- und ortsunabhängig möglich. Für die Datenerhebung wird ein Endgerät mit Internetzugang (z. B. Smartphone, Tablet oder Computer) benötigt, um auf Social Media Plattformen und so auf die Profile und Beiträge von Influencern zugreifen zu können. Die Daten von den Profilen der Influencer sowie deren Beiträge werden ganz einfach online eingetragen.

Dokumente und Tutorial für Schulklassen

Allgemeine Projektinformationen

Informationen zum Erhebungsablauf

Erklärung zum Erhebungstool

Tutorial zum Erhebungstool: Link zum Video

Preise für teilnehmende Schulklassen
Gesponsort vom OeAD können drei Schulklassen Geldpreise gewinnen: 1.000 € für den ersten Platz, 750 € für den zweiten Platz und 500 € für den dritten Platz. Die Gewinner werden anhand der Anzahl der erhobenen Beiträgen und der Datenqualität, d.h. sind die Daten vollständig und fehlerfrei, ausgewählt.

Teilnahme und Informationen

Wenn wir euer Interesse geweckt haben und ihr mit eurer Schulklasse am Projekt teilnehmen möchtete oder weitere Informationen braucht, könnt ihr uns gerne unter folgender Email Adresse oder Telefonnummer kontaktieren:

bottom of page

top of page
Friends with Smartphones

Citizen Science Project
"Influencer Monitor"

We are pleased to participate in the Citizen Science Award 2023 hosted by the OeAD with our project "Influencer Monitor: Health Influencers under the magnifying glass"

trophy.png

Today, social media platforms such as YouTube and Instagram have become the go-to sources for entertainment and information. Social media influencers, in particular, have emerged as important content creators on these platforms. While they share valuable information on health-related topics, they are also seen as a double-edged sword. On the one hand, influencers have the power to inspire young people and promote healthy behaviors. On the other hand, they also spread unverified information and promote questionable products.

"Influencer Monitor: Health Influencers under the microscope"

Adolescents know their way around social media platforms and influencers and know which influencers are important in their peer groups. That is why we want young people themselves to become researchers for the Influencer Monitor. As citizen scientists, young people observe the content of the social media platforms they use and collect data on health influencers. In the process, the citizen scientists identify the most prominent influencer among Austrian adolescents and evaluate the disseminated content according to health topics, product placements and potentials for health promotion.

How can you participate in research?

For data collection a device with internet connection (e.g. Smartphone, Tablet, PC) is required in order to access social media platforms and the profiles and posts of influencers. The data from influencer profiles and their posts are collected in an online tool. Therefore, participation is possible regardless of time and place.

Documents and Tutorial for Schools

General project information

Information data collection process

How to handle the data collection tool

Tutorial data collection tool: Link to the video

Prizes for participating school classes

Three school classes can win cash prizes: 1,000€ for first place, 750€ for second place and 500€ for third place. Winners will be selected based on the number of entries and the quality of the data (i.e. is the data complete and error-free).

Participation and further information

If we have piqued your interest and you and your school class would like to get involved and participate in the Influencer Monitor project, feel free to contact us:

bottom of page